What are some of your favorite TV shows and why?

My current favorite on-air TV show is Community. It’s a show you have to watch from the first episode, as the characters and plot have really grown from season to season. The main cast is comprised of several different characters with vastly different back stories, however, Commuinty does this truly magical thing that somehow makes you relate to each and every character in some way. It also helps that it’s the funniest show on television right now. My favorite TV show that is no longer airing is Kamen Rider W, a 50 episode season from the long-running Kamen Rider franchise. This season introduced me to the franchise I’ve been following ever sense, but I have yet to see a season top this one. Like Community, this show takes the 50 episodes it has to work with and really develops it’s characters wonderfully. The over-the-top super heroics is also a plus.

What 3 or 4 movies have you enjoyed lately?

I most recently watched the Dredd reboot and found it highly enjoyable. Compared to the way over-budget schlock that was the Sylvester Stallone Judge Dredd, this is practically an independent film. Surprisingly, the less-is-more approach works heavily in its favor. Another movie I enjoyed was Looper, which has Bruce Willis and Joseph Gordon-Levitt playing Bruce Willis (It makes sense in the movie I swear). The quasi-futuristic setting for the film was fantastic, and the plot itself was solid. By far, my favorite movie I’ve seen this past year has been Kamen Rider X Kamen Rider Fourze & OOO: Movie War Mega Max (Try saying that three times fast). A feature length film that combines elements from the two most current seasons of the franchise, Mega Max really caters to the hardcore fans of the series. From the action direction of fan-favorite Koichi Sakamoto to the inclusion of my favorite characters (Kamen Rider W), it’s a must-see for any Rider fan.

What TV or film remain vivid in your memory?

Like I said in the first question, Community and Kamen Rider W both stay strong in my memory, and I try to introduce both series to anyone that will give them the time of day. As far as movies go, Kamen Rider W actually had it’s own theatrical film spin-off. Kamen Rider W Forever A to Z/The Gaia Memories of Fate (Japan loves adding subtitles to subtitles for some reason), is a fantastic entry in the Kamen Rider W series, and a fantastic send-off for the characters. This was the first piece of Kamen Rider my personal favorite director Koichi Sakamoto was able to work on, and his love for the show really shines through.

What magazines do you read?

The only magazine I ever get is Game Informer, but that’s because I was guilted into getting a subscription at Gamestop one day. I skim it in the bathroom then throw it away every month.

What novels or short stories hold your interest?

I don’t really read either, sadly.

What storytellers on TV hold your interest?

Dan Harmon, creator of Community. Koichi Sakamoto, whose wire-work and combat choreography is simply the best in the genre. I follow both of their careers pretty heavily.

