Every year, I notice one of my good friends post a lot of stuff on Facebook about Mother’s Day.  Mostly about how much she hates the holiday (Her mom died a few years back).  I never really understood why she got so mad at such a fake holiday to begin with.  Now I do.

Mother’s day was never really a thing for my mom and I.  I never bought into the Hallmark crap of guilting you to buy flowers or some shit for someone you care about.  If you really care about someone, why only do something special one day a year for ’em (I kinda feel the same way about birthdays, which is why I never make a big deal about my own)? 

She never asked for much.  One thing she did ask for a lot was for me to write her a letter.  I always joked about it.  “We see each other every day!  What would I even write about?”  Funnily enough, about a year or two I actually decided to do something for Mother’s Day.  On my way home from work, I bought a card (Didn’t really put much thought into picking one out.  That wasn’t the point.)  And I wrote her a letter inside.  Basically telling her how much I loved her, how much of a fine example of a human being she was, yadda yadda yadda. 

I never DID find out why she wanted me to write her, but I’m starting to think it’s just because she wanted to encourage me to creatively express myself any way she could.  This was just another way of doing that. 

Heh.  Guess I’m doing it again.  Thanks, mom.

But seriously though.  Fuck Hallmark.

