Well, this is my first week back to school for the first time in over 6 years.  It’s also the last week I’ll be doing night audit.  I’m kinda tired.

So far, I love all my classes (even though I’ve only been to each one once).  Well…almost all of them.

Directing seems like it’s gonna be a lot of fun.  There’s no textbook for the class, so the teacher will be personally going over the ins and outs of it with us.  Our “final” is going to be a small recorded thing meant for television we each have to produce.  I’m really looking forward to it and can’t wait to learn more about it.

Newswriting kind of surprised me.  I thought it would be writing for stuff I don’t really care about, but our instructor said they use the term “news” loosely.  If we want to write about, say, entertainment news, that’s perfectly acceptable.

Math is gonna be the hard one.  The class is completely full of students (all my others have about 10 at MOST), so the professor can’t be hands on.  He seems like a cool guy though.  Kinda has that classic greasy kooky college professor vibe.  I bet he secretly runs experiments in the campus labs late at night.

I already love my non-linear editing teacher.  The class starts at 8AM and he walked into the room with a real “Fuck, it’s too early” attitude.  Nice to know we’re on the same wavelength.  This is another one where I have to produce 8-30 minute video for a “final.”  Also, I think Tommy Wiseau is in my class.

Intro-to-intro-to-acting is gonna be fun too.  The teacher is a former actress, so she has a passion for wanting to share this with us, and you can tell.  I didn’t do much in any of my other first day classes, but she actually had us do a brief improv exercise, which was more or less word association.  It was completely silly, but in a fun way.

Today starts the real first day of school, I think.  I’m still a bit nervous about handling the workload, but at the same time I’m really excited to finally get to play around in this world.

