Man, I haven’t been to the movies since Thor came out.  I almost saw the latest Pirates of the Caribbean last night, but my inner Marvel dork kicked in and X-Men: First Class won the evening.  I know, I know.  It’s been out forever now, but I’m lazy and movie tickets are eight fucking dollars.  Anyway, here’s what I thought of the flick.

For those that don’t know, I HATED the other three X-Men movies.  Being the comic book nerd I am, it’s probably not the reason you might think.  Yeah, I hated the costumes.  Yeah, Halle Berry was a horrible storm.  Yes, Sabretooth’s eyebrows were super fucking distracting.  Yes, the third movie was a horrible clusterfuck.  I hated the movies for one reason alone:  Wolverine.

At first, I thought it was just because I didn’t think Hugh Jackman was right for the role.  However, I watched X-Men Origins: Wolverine and was pleasantly surprised by it.  I don’t think I hate Hugh Jackman’s portrayal of Wolverine as much as he was the center of each original X-Men movie.

X-Men has always been about a team.  Or even a family.  A group of outcasts that come together under one common goal.  The comics (and even the cartoon) manage to establish this by not only showing them working as a team, but by giving each character their own time to shine.  Something the X-Men movies never really did.  Yeah, I’m sure casual fans at least know who Cyclops and Jean are, but do you think they even cared when she killed him for no reason in the third flick?  Hell, it took YEARS for Marvel to make me care about Scott Summers as a character (You can mostly think Joss Whedon for that), but the movies made no attempt outside of “Logan wants to fuck Jean, but he can’t because she loves Scott for some reason.”

First Class, however, finally seemed to get it right.  Granted, most of the movie was about Professor X and Magneto’s relationship, but when we’re introduced to the team, they’re not an afterthought.  They lay up groundwork for relationships to form and if someone betrays the team, you actually understand why.

Speaking of Charles and Magnus, a lot of people on Tumblr seem to be shipping them a lot.  The odd thing is though, they don’t really meet until halfway through the movie and only share one good character moment.  I guess you have to get your bromances where you can.

I wish I knew how to quit you. And keep you from making me think about you naked.

Aaaanyway, this flick had something I desperately wanted out of all the other X-Men films.  TRAINING MONTAGES.  Yeah, I know it’s super fucking cliche, but goddammit, this is supposed to be a SCHOOL FOR MUTANTS.  Why not show them learning a thing or two?

All in all, I had a few gripes about the flick (You could tell there was a lower budget, the costumes still suck, Banshee reminded me more of Ron Weasley then Sean Cassidy, etc.), but I was able to overlook those because I was having so much fun with the movie.  To be honest, I think it would work great as an HBO series, even.  Just slow the pacing down a bit more, and introduce a new character or two each season.  At any rate, I at least hope we get a sequel.

 

 

…and how about Kevin Bacon as Sabastian Shaw?  Who saw THAT coming?

