Originally posted on October 4, 2007 to Myspace.

I just got off the phone with my cousin.  She pointed out something…interesting to me.  I had noticed this before, but at one school I drive by occasionally, there’s a hay field on the opposite side of the road.  Sometimes I’ll see kids running around it.  I never put much thought into it, but my cousin called me laughing about it.  I mean, instead of a track, they have a hay field.  Instead of hurdles, they have bails of hay (and cow shit).  However, this really isn’t the funny part.  The funny part is that when she drove by there today, she saw students wearing different colored outfits with numbers on their backs.  “No way…” she said to herself.  But before she could finish her thought, she heard “And the winner is…”  They were having a fucking track meet!  In a hay field!  Now, I can maybe see having students run out there if your school doesn’t really have one, but that CAN’T be cool with track and field regulations.  It’s probably about as bad as a cancer charity run or something.  You know, the kind where if you win, it doesn’t really matter.  She said half the runners weren’t even breaking a sweat.  I’m sure it’s because when they got there they asked “You want me to run in a WHAT now?”  I also wonder if they hold other sports there.  Do they have football practice with bulls?  I can just see the end result of the meet now: “And in first place we have…a bobcat…..HOLY SHIT!  A BOBCAT!”  Also, do they charge admission for this thing?  I mean, you COULD buy a ticket, or you could just, you know, pull your car over.  Maybe this was a charity event.  Maybe they were trying to raise money to buy a real fucking track…

