For as long as I can remember, I’ve been skittish around guns.  I’m not sure why.  As far as I know, there was no childhood trauma that made me terrified of getting shot.  In fact, I was around guns A LOT as a kid.   My dad is a huge hunting fanatic, so it was only natural of my parents to try to teach me how to shoot early on.  I remember being pretty freaked out the whole time.  Any time I went hunting with family or something, I was SUPER CAREFUL with my gun, and kept my head down around anyone else that had one.

Why have I always been so afraid of getting shot?   Even today, if I see someone with a gun on tv or in a movie point at the camera, I flinch a bit.  Even if someone has a bb gun pointed at me, I’ll freak the fuck out.  Oddly, this doesn’t ring true for video games.  Granted, that’s probably why I don’t play realistic shooters.  It’s one thing to be firing a wacky gun that can shoot through walls, but it genuinely feels different to shoot a human-looking guy in the head with a realistic-looking pistol (Hey, that dead nazi could’ve had a wife and kids.  Who’s to say?).    I remember happily playing Doom as a kid, then soon after trying to get out of our schools gun safety class because I was afraid someone would shoot me.  I could take on hordes of demons on Mars, but the idea of one of my classmates holding a real-life rifle scared the shit out of me.

It’s so bad I don’t even want to HOLD a gun.  Even in a survival situation, I would be too awkward to have any use for it. I’d probably be that idiot that thinks the safety’s on, then looks down the barrel to have his head blown off.  I dunno, it’s that kind of morbid thinking that makes me never want to go near a gun.   I’ve imagined several situations where someone blows my head off, or even just shooting me in the arm.  I’d never wish that on anyone.

In fact, I think I’d die hating the person who shot me even more then someone who just stabbed me or something.  Gun violence seems like a real pussy way to kill someone to me.  I guess because there’s no real chance for the person to defend themselves, or even get in a word before you take them out.  You just squeeze the trigger and they’re gone. You’ve ended years of a single existence.  And you didn’t even have to break a sweat!  Coward!

I have no idea why I got into a gun rant here.  Sorry for the rambling, I just woke up with it on my mind.  I’ll probably never get over my fear of guns, but to be honest, I’m kind of ok with it.

In b4 someone comments with “You were probably shot in a previous life!”

