Originally posted Monday, July 23, 2007 on Myspace.

My little cousin came over yesterday and today, because he’s staying at my grandmother’s for a couple of days.  I can’t really blame him, when I would stay at my grandmother’s as a kid, I would have killed to get out of there, so I could come home and play video games or something.  There was never anything to do over there.  Anyway, I would let him play my consoles and things.  He really liked the Mario games, so I dug them out for him.  I’d watch him for a little while, then try to take a nap or something.  I had to…because this kid is terrible at video games.  I just couldn’t watch someone allow Mario to be mutilated in such ways.  I don’t understand it, when I was his age (I think he’s about 10)  I was able to beat Super Mario World in under an hour!  He couldn’t get past the first level in Super Mario Bros. 2!  Seriously, I had to tell him to press “up” on the controller to go through a door.  Now, most people know that that’s one of the first rule of video games:

Video Game Rules number 3:  Press “up” to enter a doorway.

I don’t know what the deal is with these kids today, or why they suck at video games.  It’s probably that damned “MTV”, or that “going outside”!

