The other day, I stumbled across this article which interviewed ‘Lost’ actor Daniel Dae Kim. In it, he mentions a desire to play Namor, if the opportunity should ever arise. I immediately thought it would be excellent casting, but it also made me think about something else. Namor is a pretty important character to the Avengers team, so I thought it would be fun if we took the rest of that team and cast them using only actors that appeared in Lost! Read along for my ideas!


Matthew Fox as Captain America

Interestingly enough, I did NOT immediately see Matthew Fox as Captain America. After seeing him in Speed Racer, I thought he would be the perfect choice for Iron Fist if that movie ever gets made (hell, Iron Fist has been an Avenger too). Millionaire kung-fu playboy aside, Fox has done the leadership thing already so it’s a pretty natural fit here. Also: He would be a good fit for Steve Rogers OR Bucky Barnes.


Josh Halloway as Wolverine

“But Lee! Wolverine is an X-Man! Not an Avenger!” Bitch, it’s 2010. Women can vote, gay people can go out in public, and Wolverine can be on any damn team he wants. I should probably say that this list is a mix of old and New Avengers (in stores now, written by Brian Michael Bendis!). Anyway, throughout multiple seasons of Lost, Halloway has taken Sawyer from uncaring bastard, to full-on compassionate leader (something Logan himself has gone through over the years). To further prove the point: Wolverine’s real name is James Howlett. Sawyer’s real name is James Ford. Coincidence?


Daniel Dae Kim as Namor

The original article covered this pretty well, but I will say that it’s perfect casting. He could easily get the Sub-Mariner’s smugness down.


Elizabeth Mitchell as Janet van Dyne/The Wasp

Mitchell is very good at playing characters that are stern, but caring. The Wasp is pretty spunky, but has to put up with a LOT of crap over the years *cough*Hank Pym*cough*. I think Mitchell would bring a lot of backbone to the character.


Michael Emerson as Hank Pym/Ant-Man

You can’t have the Wasp without Hank Pym. The guy that played Benjamin Linus MAY seem like a weird choice, but I think it’s a pretty good fit. Hank Pym always has something to prove. So much so, that he makes really REALLY boneheaded choices to try to make himself known. Emerson played a character that got his own daughter killed just because he thought it would make him score points with the island.


Mark Pellegrino as Donald Blake/Thor

Pellegrino has already played a god-like figure in the mysterious Jacob, but his caring portrayal of the character makes me think he would be a perfect fit for Donald Blake. For the alter ego of Thor, I’m guessing a lot of CG would be involved…unless he could put on a LOT of muscle tone in a small amount of time.


Nestor Carbonell as Tony Stark/Iron Man

As much as I love Robert Downey Jr., he was never in an episode of Lost. However, we do have Nestor Carbonell! Believe it or not, I’m not basing this casting on Carbonell’s portrayal of Richard. No, I’m looking at the short-lived Tick animated series, where he played womanizing asshole Batmanuel. A pretty nice fit for Anthony Stark.


Ian Somerhalder as Clint Barton/Hawkeye

Aw, man, you guys remember Boone? Yeah…me neither. Speaking of forgettable characters, what about Hawkeye? I’m totally kidding. Hawkeye is awesome.
All joking aside, Somerhalder would be able to pull off Clint’s normal prick attitude pretty well. And hey, this character actually has growth too, unlike his Lost role. Here’s hoping they don’t go the “Disassembled” route…


Emilie de Ravin as Bobbi Morse/Mockingbird

If you’ve got Hawkeye, you’ve gotta have Mockingbird. Well, not really, but she could at least get a cameo. I picked Emilie de Ravin, because I really don’t wanna see Boone sleep with Shannon again…even if they’re not siblings this time.


Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje as Jericho Drumm/Doctor Voodoo

It may seem surprising that I did not go with the more mainstream Dr. Strange, but that’s only because I REALLY wanted to find a part for Akinnuoye-Agbaje. Eko was probably one of my favorite characters in Lost; something about the character was just intoxicating. His complete belief in his own faith combined with his subtle badassary made for a very well-liked character. It would be nice fit for him to try out Doctor Voodoo, a man that has seen the world of magic and still has doubts about himself and his own power.


Dominic Monaghan as Jarvis

I know, I know. Why would I select Dominic Monaghan as Jarvis when Jarvis is just an old butler? Well, as it’s been said in the comics multiple times, Jarvis is the heart of the Avengers. He’s always there to lend an ear or poor a drink when things are tough. There have been several occasions where Iron Man or even Cap has asked Jarvis for his input on a situation. Unfortunately, I don’t think this would be portrayed well with a stuffy old British guy in real life (which may be why the REAL movies used a machine instead), so I think Monaghan’s natural charisma would really shine. He would be the glue that holds the team together.

Now, what’s an Avengers movie without villains? Pretty damn boring, that’s what. Here’s some of my villain ideas:


Evangeline Lilly as Jessica Drew/Spider-Woman/Skrull Queen

If they went the Secret Invasion route, they could put Spider-Woman on the team, then reveal her true form at the end. Ok, I’ll admit it, I picked this casting just because I want to see Kate get shot in the head.


Jeremy Davies as Bruce Banner/The Hulk

I’ll admit it’s a bit of typecasting, but he would play a phenomenal Bruce Banner. The shy mannerisms, the quirkiness, the subtle cockiness. Daniel Faraday WAS Bruce Banner. It would probably play out like the first Avengers meeting, with Loki manipulating The Hulk into fighting the team. Speaking of Loki…


Terry O’Quinn and Michelle Rodriguez as Loki

Loki, being the Norse god of mischief, takes on many forms. Terry O’Quinn has a little experience playing a manipulative shape-shifter, and I think Rodriguez would be a good choice for Loki’s female form, should they choose to use it.


Rebecca Mader as Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch

In Lost, Charlotte was a cultural anthropologist who had a secret past and trust issues. Wanda Maximoff was the daughter of Magneto, brainwashed into becoming a mutant terrorist until escaping and joining the Avengers. However, the character has always been a bit unstable and I think Mader could take her into the villainous side if she needed too.


Sam Anderson and Jeff Fahey as the voice of Ultron

Ultron, the robot creation of Hank Pym, needs a distinct voice. I got the idea from Transformers to mix two different vocals into one, and I think Anderson and Fahey have voices that stand out a bit more (with Fahey’s being adding a bit of gruffness). The calm, dry tone would be a harsh contrast to the murderous actions of the maniacal machine.

Well, that’s it for my Avengers cast! Do you like the idea? Anyone from Lost you think would be better suited for another character? Let me know in the comments!

