Originally posted Sunday, March 25, 2007 (back when I worked at a call center)

WEIRD fucking night at work tonight.  I started getting these calls from some guy (he sounded kind of “off”) looking for something in Chicago.  He’d ask for a person, but I had a hard time understanding him, so after a few tries he’d hang up.  One time he called back, said the name, and I still couldn’t find it.  He said “You know, the killer?  They executed him in *unintelligible*”  Before I could let out a “…What?”  he had hung up the phone.  Later he called back: “You know *weird name* killed seven people before they caught him?”  Then he immediately hung up.  Later still, I picked up (I knew it was him this time because of the recording play back) and still couldn’t understand what he was saying, so I asked for a city and state.  His response:  “*mumble mumble* skateboard *mumble*”  Then he hangs up.  Finally I get a few more calls from him that are complete gibberish with him hanging up right after he says whatever he says.

Here’s my theory about it:  The first time he called, I think there was someone in the room with him.  I don’t remember why, but it sounded like a nurse.  So, I think he’s a patient in a hospital watching the History channel, giving me the play by play as he gets more and more doped up on his meds.

