Man, I feel like Super Night Auditor right now.  For those that don’t know, I work nights at a hotel, in the front desk.  All I really have to do is a giant stack of paperwork, in addition to checking people in and fielding any guest needs.  Normally, it’s not that big of a deal (I do get a couple of curve balls every now and then).  Tonight, it’s been pretty crazy.  I haven’t had a houseman (the guy that cleans every night and runs stuff to rooms since I can’t leave the desk), so I’ve been kinda doing that job too.  Within the first hour of being here, I’ve had different rooms ask for extra sheets, a blanket, and some pillows.  The guy I brought pillows to even asked me to run back and buy him some drinks from the front (He let me keep the change, so I guess that’s something).  The surprising thing is I haven’t ran into anyone really pissy about having to wait or anything.  Everyone’s been super pleasant and even grateful (Honestly, I get more complaints then anything, mostly about what the day shift “didn’t do.”).

I’m pretty happy for the good night so far because I’ve been really pissed off at this place.  I kinda broke down the other day after I got called in on my day off.  It seems silly to be upset about such a thing, I know, but I feel like I’m always looking over my shoulder any time I get any day off because I’m the only other person they have that can run this shift.  We’re pretty understaffed all around, but I feel like I can’t take any real time off because I’m the only one they can’t easily replace.  I’ve been wanting to take a vacation for a while now and try to crank out a script or even film something, but I really don’t see it happening.  Even when I do get days off, all I really want to do is unwind, so I feel like it’s all going to waste.

On that note, I’m thinking about looking for another job.  Something part time.  I’m hoping to take a class or two at a local community college.  I talked to my mom about it for a few hours the other day and it seems like a really good idea.  I just have to make sure I’ll be financially stable while I do it.    We’ll see what happens.

Right now, I’m just riding this job out as long as I can, while I talk to a few connections I have to see what else is available.  I’m actually getting hopeful again.  Fingers crossed.

