Not to be confused with The Pokemon Movie: Mewtwo Strikes Back.

I actually downloaded this one a few years ago, back when Digimon was still at the height of its popularity.  I enjoyed all the others (Weirdness of Golden Digimentals aside), and I really didn’t like the idea of missing anything Digimon related.  I’ve gotta say, this is by far my favorite out of all the films.  It has the perfect blend of action, character interaction, and (of course) fan-service.

The basic plot is that Diaboromon has returned.  And he’s striking back.  Seriously, that’s all you need to know.  It’s up to the digi-destined (both old school and the “new class”) to take him down.

I’ll admit, it’s a lot harder to talk about this movie because I loved it so much.  I honestly can’t think of a single thing I didn’t like about this one.  Maybe because it’s so much better then the last one, but I think it’s just because Diaboromon Strikes Back is THAT good of a movie.

Don't seem so shocked, Daisuke! You're in a GOOD movie this time. Savor it!

There’s an amazing scene toward the end where Omegamon is down and it seems all hope is lost.  Daisuke and Ken arrive looking for their Digimon that had been whisked away to the big battle.  They try to make their way through the crowd, but everyone’s too busy looking on in fear.  They proceed to yell for V-Mon and Wormmon, which draws the attention of the entire crowd.  Everyone takes a couple of steps back as the two look on.  The crowd shouts “GO!” as Daisuke and Ken run to their partners, who then digivolve and begin the final battle.  Just a really powerful moment that makes the whole damn movie for me.

It’s pretty obvious that I’m going to recommend this movie to anyone that hasn’t seen it yet.  If I can be a cliche, I would even say “If you only see ONE Digimon movie…Make it this one!”

Stay tuned to the blog as I start watching the flicks I HAVEN’T seen.  Should be entertaining for all of us.

