I got to try a couple of new (Well, they were new to me) video games yesterday.

First up was Tatsunoko Vs. Capcom.  I’ve been wanting to play this game since it was first announced for Japan.  It was one of those really sweet looking games (Like Namco X Capcom) that didn’t seem likely to ever hit the US.  Apparently, Capcom actually listened to the fan outcry and worked their asses off to get everything licensed for us.  Was it worth it?  For the most part, yes.  My only real complaint is that there are too many characters with helmets.  Seriously, can the animators at Tatsunoko not draw hair or something?  I realize these are mostly older characters and debuted before the deluge of full-body-suit-heroes started, but it’s still a bit daunting.  I ended up playing with Batsu and Tekkaman Blade for most of the time because I was too afraid to try out any of the G-Force and G-Force lookalike characters.  Fingers crossed for Superbook characters in DLC!

I also tried Lego Rock Band for the first time.  I was pleasantly surprised by it.  I was expecting  just a re-skinned Rock Band and I got…a re-skinned Rock Band with a few bonus features.  The Lego aspect is actually pretty downplayed except for the look of the game (You can’t really build anything outside of your green room).  Granted, the look IS neat and a nice change from the normal Rock Band avatars (Seriously, Harmonix.  Why haven’t you added new clothes or locales for Rock Band 2 DLC?).  The gameplay hasn’t changed, but the career mode does mix it up a bit.  There’s more of a story to it (albeit a generic Guitar Heroesque one), and some gigs require you to do something other then pleasing the crowd with your rock.  One of our first gigs had the band demolish a building…with the power of their rock.  Yeah, the gameplay remained mostly the same, but it changed it up enough for me to get into it.

